CU pharmacy student elected at regional meeting

Xenia Daily Gazette

CEDARVILLE — Myriam Shaw Ojeda was recently selected to be a regional member-at-large for the American Pharmacists Association — Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP).

Ojeda, president-elect of Cedarville’s APhA-ASP chapter and second-year professional pharmacy student, will represent 25 pharmacy schools in Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois and Kentucky (region 4).

“I want to take advantage of this strategic role by fostering more collaboration with schools in Ohio and in the neighboring states as well,” Ojeda said. “Interacting with other schools is just one of the ways I can have an influence in this leadership position.”

APhA-ASP is a nationally recognized pharmacy student organization with a mission to provide opportunities for professional growth, improve patient care and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy.

“Cedarville students are challenged to take ownership of their roles as future pharmacists through engaging the community and networking with current pharmacists,” said Danielle Baker, third-year professional pharmacy student and current president of Cedarville’s APhA-ASP chapter. “We can also choose to engage in policy and advocacy, professional affairs, veterans outreach and more.”

Cedarville’s APhA-ASP chapter is one of seven in Ohio. Its chapter is structured with five nationally recognized patient care operations: Operation Heart, Diabetes, Immunization, GenerationRx and Over-the-Counter (OTC) Medicine Safety.

Content provided by Cedarville University.

Content provided by Cedarville University.