Home Notice Box Sports Local Sports Briefs

Local Sports Briefs



Monster Truck Summer Nationals tonight, Saturday

XENIA — Kil-Kare Raceway, located on 1166 Dayton Xenia Rd., will play host to the inaugural Monster Truck Summer Nationals, Friday and Saturday at the track.

The event, sponsored by Dayton Xenia Auto Parts & Recycling, kicks off with a Pit Party from 4-6 p.m. Friday and Saturday, with each evening’s show set to get under way at 7 p.m.

Admission is $15 for adults. Kids 12 & under can get in for $5 with a paid adult.


MVFCA All-Star Football Game, June 12

CENTERVILLE — The 32nd Annual Miami Valley Football Coaches Association All-Star Football Game will be held next at 7 p.m., Friday June 12 at Centerville High School. The game will be called “The Great Clips Pigskin Classic”.

Earl White from Dayton Belmont will serve as the head coach of the South team. Trace Smitherman, from

Riverside Stebbins, is the head coach of the North.

On Thursday, the MVFCA inducted Steve DeWitt, of Springfield Catholic Central, and Belmont’s James Eby into the MVFCA Head Football Coaches Hall of Fame.

Norm Lewis of Clayton Northmont, Miamisburg’s John Fantauzzo and Covington’s Doug Swartz were inducted into the MVFCA’s Assistant Football Coaches Hall of Fame, as well.

OHSAA to sponsor Boys and Girls Lacrosse in 2016-‘17

COLUMBUS — The Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) Board of Directors approved a recommendation from an OHSAA subcommittee that boys and girls lacrosse become sports sponsored by the OHSAA beginning with the 2016-17 school year, Commissioner Daniel B. Ross, Ph.D., has announced. Lacrosse will be a spring sport with the first OHSAA statewide tournament series beginning in 2017. The Board unanimously (8-0) approved the recommendation during its regularly scheduled meeting Thursday at the OHSAA Office in Columbus.

Lacrosse will become the first sport in the OHSAA’s newly developed category called “emerging” sports, since lacrosse currently does not have the required 150 schools to become an OHSAA “recognized” sport per OHSAA bylaws. Currently organized by the OHSLA and OSLA, there were 122 boys schools and 118 girls schools that sponsored lacrosse in 2015, with an additional 18 boys club teams sponsored.

As an emerging sport, lacrosse will be handled very similarly as all OHSAA “recognized” sports, with the major exception being that the Board of Directors will conduct an annual assessment of lacrosse to review items such as growth and financial solvency to determine if it will continue as an “emerging” sport; be elevated to a “recognized” sport, or be suspended or discontinued as an “emerging” sport.

The Ohio High School Lacrosse Association has been conducting a statewide tournament series since the 1988-89 school year, and the Ohio Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association has had a statewide tournament series since 1999-2000. While both the boys and girls currently have two tournament divisions, the Board of Directors did not take action to determine how many tournament divisions there will be in lacrosse when the OHSAA begins oversight in 2016-17.

The addition of boys and girls lacrosse increases the number of “recognized” and “emerging” sports sponsored by the OHSAA to 26, which includes 13 for boys and 13 for girls. The OHSAA last added sports in 2006-07 when boys and girls bowling were adopted.


Marquez NJCAA Division III Player of the Year

Vivi Marquez, who will be a part of the Wright State softball program next season, has been selected as the Division III Player of the Year by the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA).

Marquez (Roscoe, Ill./Hononegah) earned the honor following an electrifying sophomore campaign, spearheading Rock Valley College’s drive towards a second consecutive national title.

Demonstrating her knack for hitting the long ball, Marquez accumulated a .954 slugging percentage that ranked sixth in the country. She tied for the most home runs with 14, tied for fifth in doubles with 20 and totaled six triples which tied for 12th. Her 85 RBIs on the year stood alone as the most across the DIII ranks, while her 93 hits – leading to a .531 batting average – were second-most.

Marquez proved to be a threatening presence from behind home plate, allowing just one stolen base throughout the year. She totaled 156 putouts and 25 assists to go against just five errors on the season, yielding a .973 fielding percentage.

With a final overall record of 52-5 for the season – with all five losses coming against DII opponents – Rock Valley won its second consecutive NJCAA Division III Softball Championship. Marquez led the Golden Eagles to wins in their final 32 games of the season.

Marquez, who missed all of 2014 with an injury, batted .504 (65 for 129) as a freshman for Rock Valley in 2013. She also drove in 70 runs that season, scored 67 runs, added 17 doubles, and was 8 for 8 in stolen bases. She was selected First Team All-American Catcher by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association, First Team All-Region IV, the Region IV All-Tournament Team and the N4C MVP.

Wright State will have six starters returning from the 2015 team that advanced to the finals of the Horizon League Tournament.

Snyder, Morrow named Freshmen All-Americans

Wright State’s Gabe Snyder and Matt Morrow were selected as Louisville Slugger Freshmen All-Americans Wednesday as they were announced by Collegiate Baseball newspaper.

Snyder (Millersburg West Holmes) was the Horizon League Freshman of the Year in 2015 as he hit .273 with six home runs and 48 RBI. He ranked fourth in the league in RBI, fourth in doubles with 18 and tied for sixth in home runs and in walks with 30. Snyder finished with a .455 slugging percentage and a .385 on-base percentage.

Morrow (Richmond, Ind.) joined Snyder on the league’s All-Freshman Team as he hit .309 on the season with 24 RBI, 39 runs scored and a .434 on-base percentage. He hit .345 in league play while driving in 17.

Wright State won the 2015 Horizon League Tournament title in Whiting, Indiana, and made its fifth all-time appearance in the NCAA Division I Regionals, advancing to the finals for the first-time ever before falling to host and nationally-ranked Illinois. The Raiders, who posted the second-most wins in a season in program history with 43, defeated Ohio and Notre Dame for their first NCAA victories since 1994.