Home Food News Cedarville professors selected for award

Cedarville professors selected for award


For Greene County News

CEDARVILLE — Five Cedarville University professors will be recognized as “Excellence in Education” honorees in the December issue of Ohio Magazine.

Each December, the publication recognizes faculty members from universities and colleges across the state for their outstanding achievements in higher education.

The honorees are: Gerald Brown, Ph.D., associate professor of electrical engineering; Aleda Chen, Ph.D., assistant professor of pharmacy practice; James Leightenheimer, M.A., associate professor of communications; John Mortensen D.M.A., professor of music; and Peggy Wilfong, Ph.D., professor of English.

To be nominated, faculty must show teaching excellence, participate in professional development activities, support student success outside the classroom and be a distinct member of the academic community. Each school or university in the Ohio area can nominate up to five professors or teachers for this recognition. This year, 115 individuals were nominated.

“These five Cedarville professors have exemplified God-pleasing excellence in and out of the classroom,” said Loren Reno, interim vice president of academics at Cedarville University. “With their other colleagues, I applaud their significant accomplishments and this high honor.”

The number of Cedarville professors chosen for this honor has more than doubled since last year. In 2014, Cedarville’s Mark Caleb Smith, Ph.D., professor of political science, and Rocco Rotello, Ph.D., associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences, were two of 101 honorees.






Content provided by Cedarville University.