Greene County News Report

SPRINGFIELD – Clark State Community College will celebrate its spring commencement at 10 a.m., Saturday, May 7 at the Clark State Performing Arts Center, 300 South Fountain Ave. in downtown Springfield.

More than 500 candidates for graduation will receive their degree or certificate of completion. Of the honored graduates, 95 have indicated they plan to transfer to four-year institutions, 72 are members of the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society and 20 are military veterans.

Student, wife and mother of two Rebecca Ryan will speak at the commencement ceremony. Ryan is from Cedarville and enrolled at Clark State in 2014 as a full-time student. She will receive a degree in Logistics and Supply Chain Management. “I chose this because we have a [family] business, and I thought it would be helpful for running that, but it actually helped me to understand my husband’s aerospace manufacturing job as well,” she said.

Ryan has maintained a 4.0 grade point average and has been on the dean’s list each semester. She also received the Brad and Patti Phillips Foundation Scholarship.

“Clark State Community College will challenge you,” said Ryan. “I took advantage of night classes, day classes, hybrid classes, traditional classes and online classes. Clark State offered all of that, and I was able to do it.”

Ryan said she had many “outstanding teachers” at Clark State.

“They seemed to really care about me as a person,” she said. “They walked with me down this path.”

Ryan’s post-graduate plans are to work alongside her father, which Ryan said is her “dream come true.” She said she is excited for the opportunity to speak at Clark State’s Commencement ceremony. “I have worked really hard for this, but I know it is my faith and obedience to God that pulled me through,” she said. “I will be speaking about my story and encouraging those around me to do great things.”

Local graduates include:

Beavercreek: Maria Alderman Morales – Accounting Certificate; Carlie Autry Currier – Associate of Science; Stephanie Tarra Finkle – Practical Nursing Certificate; Krystal S. Johnson – Early Childhood Education; Ryan Patrick Kennedy – Associate of Science; Frederick Lacey – Associate of Science; Douglas Macfarland – GIS/Geospatial; Shelby Taylor Abel – Associate of Arts; Justin R. Pepera – Associate of Arts; Bethany L. Repp – Practical Nursing Certificate; Samantha R. Smith – Associate of Arts; Amanda Michelle West – Social Services.

Bellbrook: Jenny Elizabeth Henderson – Registered Nursing; Kimberly S. Walker – Practical Nursing Certificate.

Cedarville: Julie Lyn Campbell – Medical Assisting Certificate; Kevin M. Gardner – Computer Networking; Kevin M. Gardner – Cybersecurity/Information Assurance; Rebecca S. Ryan – Management-Logistics and Supply Chain Option.

Enon: Anthony S. Adams – Computer Networking and Cybersecurity/Information Assurance; Sarah Ballenger – Associate of Arts; Sharon M. Downard – Office Administration-Medical Office Administration; Kristin Knapp – Registered Nursing; Leigha Marie Ross – Management-Human Resource Option; Tristen Ruef – Criminal Justice; Danielle Smithers – Office Administration-Medical Office Administration; Holly F. Whitacre – Management-Human Resource Option.

Fairborn: Tiffany Bailey – Registered Nursing; Megan A. Bohlin – Registered Nursing; Brieyanna J. Braxton – Criminal Justice; Barry A. Brown, Jr. – Computer Networking; Adrianna Buie – Practical Nursing Certificate; Heather M. Caspersen – Registered Nursing; Kristina L. Childers – Social Services; Kasandra M. Cothran – Registered Nursing; Chelsea B. Evans – Management-Logistics and Supply Chain Option; Cassie Grant – Registered Nursing; Sara Harley – Registered Nursing; Fenton F. Harrison, III – Cybersecurity and Information Assurance; Aaron Helton, III – Associate of Science; Amanda R. Huetson – Associate of Arts; Elizabeth Anne Hunsaker – Associate of Arts; Michele Boatman-Johnson – Practical Nursing Certificate; Dane A. Jordan – Practical Nursing Certificate; Diana Maria Marshall – Social Services; Terry L. Moore – Associate of Arts; Caroline Myers – Medical Assisting Certificate; Caroline Myers – Medical Assisting Certificate; Lauren Michelle Nolasco – Registered Nursing; Misty D. Phillips – Office Administration-Medical Office Administration; Cortney P. Rodgers – Medical Assisting Certificate; Jenna D. Schmid – Computer Networking and Cybersecurity/Information Assurance; Samantha E. Schmidt – Medical Laboratory; Molly A. Shipley – Criminal Justice; Elizabeth Snyder – Practical Nursing Certificate; Mia C. Spratling – Social Services; Eric V. Swearingen Jr. – Photography Certificate; Kent Walpole Jr. – Physical Therapist Assistant; Sean K. Warren, II – Associate of Science; Lisa J. Wightman – Medical Assisting Certificate; Natasha Odessa Williamson – Associate of Science; Heather L. Wright – Criminal Justice.

Jamestown: Brian Budnick – Computer Networking; Lisa A. Burtch – Practical Nursing Certificate; Lacy S. Skidmore – Emergency Medical Services; Ashleigh N. Zeckser – Practical Nursing Certificate; Wilberforce; Marques Greene – Associate of Science; Wright Patterson Air Force Base; Tyeisha N. Miles – Associate of Science.

Xenia: Jacob M. Bennington – Multi-Skilled Healthcare Certificate; Bethia R. Bolton – Associate of Arts; Lajenea Diagne – Registered Nursing; Drew R. Felder – Associate of Arts; Shawn K. Gregg – Management-Logistics and Supply Chain Option; Leah A. Guthrie – Registered Nursing; Dylan Hackley – Physical Therapist Assistant; Stephanie N. Hahn – Office Administration; Cassandra Hall – Judicial Reporting; Kyle C. Hendrix – Registered Nursing; Heather L. Hucke – Multi-Skilled Healthcare Certificate; Aisha Idrees – Social Services; Laura Long – Management-Human Resource Option; Karen W. Miller – Accounting Certificate; Monica Miller – Associate of Science; Kathleen A. Polen – Registered Nursing; Brianna N. Pullins – Registered Nursing; Leah M. Scott – Management Certificate; Jay A. Stookey Jr. – Computer-Aided Design; Jessica M. Strickland – Associate of Science; Daryle M. Williams – Emergency Medical Services.

Yellow Springs: Maria N. Brown – Associate of Arts; Ruby P. King – Associate of Arts; Bailey M. Linse – Medical Assisting Certificate; Destiny Luneke – Registered Nursing.

Greene County News Report compiled by Whitney Vickers. Information courtesy of Clark State Community College.