Gazette News Report

XENIA — Xenia Police Officer Robert Stouffer received the department’s highest honor during its 25th annual police awards ceremony recently.

Stouffer, a 17-year veteran, received the Casey Elliott Memorial “City’s Finest” Award for an event earlier this year when a 911 call was received on a possible cardiac arrest. Within one minute of receiving the call, Stouffer entered the residence, assessed the situation, and began life saving measures including CPR. According to Xenia Firefighter Eric Swanson, “This officer did an excellent job and the only reason the victim survived is due to Officer Stouffer’s quick response and treatment.”

The Casey Elliott “City’s Finest” Award was named after C.K. Elliott, who joined the Xenia Police Division as a patrol officer in 1943. He ultimately rose to become police captain and then acting police chief. After retiring, he served as bailiff in Xenia Municipal Court. His career serving the citizens of Xenia totaled 35 years and the Ohio Senate passed a resolution for him calling him a “truly outstanding Ohioan.” The award was set up by the Elliott family in recognition of police officers who distinguish themselves through an outstanding accomplishment, bravery or humanitarian service in police work.

“While Officer Stouffer is being recognized for his outstanding performance resulting in a lifesaving event, he is also being recognized for his years of dedicated service to this community as an excellent officer, trainer, and mentor,” said Chief Randy Person. “He is truly one of the ‘city’s finest.’ ”

In other police recognition activities, the Communications Operator of the Year Award was presented to Cari Helling for her role and extraordinary contributions in the field of public safety communications.

The Leadership Award was presented to Captain Scott Anger for his continued outstanding leadership within the organization.

The Silver Shield Commendation was presented to Officer Jeffrey Moore for the highest level of overall patrol operations within the patrol section.

The Community Policing award was presented to officers Dean Margioras and Harold Matheson for their continued involvement in maintaining close ties between the police, the schools, and the members of the community.

The Distinguished Service Award was presented to officers Pat Walsh and Philip Pierson for an act which involved a significant risk to their lives.


Gazette news report compiled by Scott Halasz.