Home Notice Box Top Stories Two from county receive AES grants

Two from county receive AES grants


DAYTON — Two Greene County non-profits are among those sharing grant money from the AES Ohio Foundation.

Wright State University ($75,000) and WYSO Public Radio ($50,000) are among those receiving part of $1.3 million in awards for projects targeting poverty reduction, the arts, and workforce development.

Included in the 47 total grants are 14 larger awards, named Power Grants, supporting partners in delivering important programs to our community and engaging AES Ohio people in their organizations. WSU and WYSO received the Power Grants.

“The AES Ohio Foundation is proud that every grant dollar stays local,” said David Crusey, AES Ohio Foundation Board chair. The foundation remains a tangible symbol of AES’ commitment to our communities, and we are delighted to continue the longstanding tradition of helping deliver innovative programs and services. Congratulations to the grant recipients, we look forward to seeing the results of their efforts fostering the quality of life in the Miami Valley.”

The AES Ohio Foundation supports worthy organizations in AES Ohio’s 24-county service territory. According to a release, the foundation is intentional about supporting institutions and programs serving basic needs. Additional awards were granted to multiple organizations, whose purposes range from empowering those who are socially and economically disadvantaged to focusing on mental health. Since 1985, the foundation has awarded more than $44 million in grants within the utility’s service territory.

Other Power Grant recipients include Dayton Performing Art Alliance ($130,000), United Way of Greater Dayton ($75,000), Dayton Children’s Hospital ($75,000), American Red Cross Miami Valley Chapter ($50,000), and Boonshoft Museum of Discovery ($50,000).